Rising Sun Reviews & Testimonials

Here are a selection of reviews from customers and guests of the Rising Sun, St Mawes from Trip Advisor and Booking.com

Exceptional

Absolutely loved our stay with the guys at the Rising Sun - very smart, clean and comfortable accommodation and great food - especially the pies .....amazing!! Thanks for your hospitality - we will be back

Date of Visit: March 2020

SEE ORIGINAL REVIEW

Amazing fish of the day

In my opinion Lewis (the chef) is an extraordinary cook!
My son and I had “see bass served with sun blushed tomato + spinach on a white wine + herb risotto“ and found it just amazing, super, fantastic !!!
I advise anyone to eat here since I’m sure you’ll adore it !!!

Date of Visit: March 2020

SEE ORIGINAL REVIEW

A Charming and Hospitable Hotel

A charming pub/hotel in a lovely position in the middle of picturesque St Mawes, in a beautiful part of Cornwall, and overlooking the little harbour and the Carrick Roads.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, with especially good service from Molly. The 'Riser's' breakfasts were quire exceptional and included such offerings as eggs Benedict, Florentine, Royale etc. as well as most classic British breakfast dishes from full English to real old-style kippers.

We once also sampled their carvery (available Wednesday evenings and Sunday lunchtimes) over our four-day stay over the Christmas period; that too was impeccable, including a perfect joint of roast beef and a wide selection of vegetables.

Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable.

We'll be back.

Date of Visit: December 2019

SEE ORIGINAL REVIEW

Good Lunch

Good to find open in January. Lovely lunch with right size portions. Recommend the faggots! Would return again.

Date of Visit: January 2020

SEE ORIGINAL REVIEW

Great Family Pub

Having spent a relaxing time in the Rising Sun, we were lucky enough to stay for 4 Days in the very clean welcoming rooms, well stocked with coffee and a good selection of teas. The breakfast selection was amazing catering for all needs

The choice of well cooked and presented food Including a vegetarian menu is outstanding.
The service from the Rising Sun staff was fantastic, Jack and Maisie work so hard to deliver an outstanding service. The chefs work extremely hard to provide a perfect variety of food to a high standard.

This local Pub only maintains is high standard due to its amazing manager Jen, who calmly organises the staff, insisting on high standards of cleanliness, and a really friendly service to everyone who visits.
This pub is sometimes very busy, but always manages to maintain a quality service.

Thank you to the Rising Sun team we appreciate your hard work.

Date of Visit: January 2020

SEE ORIGINAL REVIEW

Great Location, Fab Views

Centrally located in the village this is an ideal typical Cornish pub/reastaurant providing a good range of food and drinks and reasonable prices. family friendly, great outdoor seating, fast efficient service.

Date of Visit: October 2019

SEE ORIGINAL REVIEW

Sunday Lunch Carvery

It was a lovely pub with a lunchtime Sunday carvery, the food was good quality and we all enjoyed our meal along with a nice selection of local beers & ciders.

Date of Visit: October 2019

SEE ORIGINAL REVIEW

Everything you want for a Weekend Get Away

Everything was wonderful - the room was huge, the bath was amazing; the breakfast was delicious. We had the best time.

Date of Visit: January 2020

SEE ORIGINAL REVIEW

Great Views

The Rising Sun is situated looking out over the Harbour & the views are fantastic.

The bar has a good selection of drinks & a good atmosphere. The staff are friendly & helpful. If you can get in early you will be lucky enough to get a table overlooking the harbour. The menu is good & there is also a good selection of special dishes of the day.

There is no car park to the pub , but it is right next to the public car park (pay & display)

We would definitely visit again!

Date of Visit: September 2019

SEE ORIGINAL REVIEW

Great Experience

Great location, beautiful harbour view room. Our puppy was made welcome also. The staff were cheerful, helpful and welcoming. Good quality food especially the superb breakfast. Will return.

Date of Visit: October 2019

SEE ORIGINAL REVIEW

Exceptional

Our stay was excellent this time we have stayed here in the past it had gone down hill a bit but the new owners are doing an excellent job to bring this establishment back up to speed. We asked for an early breakfast which was not a problem very helpful and pleasant staff. We visit St Mawes on a regular basis so will definitely be staying here again 5 Stars.

Date of Visit: March 2020

SEE ORIGINAL REVIEW

Great Stay at The Rising Sun

I really enjoyed my stay, the room was comfortable and the staff were really helpful. The breakfast room has a nice view of the sea. I only had breakfast there which was very good. Thanks!

Date of Visit: February 2020

SEE ORIGINAL REVIEW

Stay with Us

Our boutique pub accommodation offers singles, doubles, twins, family rooms and suites, some offering seaviews. Comfort, luxury and convenience in the centre of St Mawes in Cornwall.